a merry married christmas.

Hello there!

I hope you all had/are having a wonderful holiday season.

I’ll quickly fill you in on my Christmas in Chicago and then later this week I’ll write about how I’m gearing up for an amazing 2014!

In short: my Christmas was INCREDIBLE. I spent it with my hubsband, parents, brother, sister-in-law, and two nieces…and the whole week was just amazing. I was reminded of how re-energizing it can be to just slow down and relax with family, eating delicious foods and playing fun games together. I will definitely be more mindful of that as we go into 2014!

fambly

[ok seriously, how freaking cute is my fambly?!]

It was also Eric’s and my first married Christmas, which was very special. It even snowed ON Christmas [AND it was E’s FIRST white Christmas]! So magical. 🙂 Here you can see
1) us in our new jammies,
2) us freezing our buns off for the sake of a Winter Wonderland picture,
and 3) a funny [and typical] cry-faced picture of me reading the note that E wrote on my Crisms present. Such a sweet man, that hubsby of mine is!!!

I will admit, though, that it was a little bit weird…being back in the house that I’d moved into when I was FIVE years old…but this time, I brought a HUBSBAND with me. 😉 Not a bad weird at all — in fact, weird is probably the wrong word to use. I just found it so interesting to think back & reminisce on how much of my life I’ve spent in that house…and also how much of my life I’ve spent outside of it.

home sweet home[I’m so glad I managed to capture this picture of the Christmas snowfall with the blur of our Christmas tree & house behind it]

I always get all nostalgic when I go home! With that being said, I want to share with you a snippit that I just discovered in the journal that I kept when I was in first grade. We had weekly writing assignments, and I wrote this particular entry when I was 11 days shy of my 6th birthday in 1991 [no need to do the math: I’m 28 years old].

Oct 11 1991       Nicole
I LiKe
RieTiNg
IN My
jourNAL
Beekus
I will geT
BeTeR

journalI was delightfully surprised to discover that even five-year-old-Me enjoyed writing!

…umm…I mean, “RieTiNg”

And with that, I’ll sign off. More at the end of the week about my 2013/14 Look Back/Forth!

Wishing all of you a very Happy New Year!!!

x Nicole

Share your Thoughts!

