the travel bug.

“You know more of a road by having traveled it than by all the conjectures and descriptions in the world.”
~William Hazlitt

Agh I didn’t post last week! My apologies to you, my Loyal Readers. I’m making sure I set myself up to win in the future by setting reminders to post! [On the plus side, I realized that I’d been successfully posting regularly without reminders for nearly 4 months, so that was pretty neat.]

_MG_2376I’ve been bitten by the travel bug [again]…which has been a strong pattern in my life…and not one that I’m even remotely opposed to. 🙂 By the time I was 25 years old, I’d traveled to 25 countries, and 20 states here in the US of A. I’m so incredibly grateful that I was able to experience so much of the world at such a young age. And now that I’m older, I’m eager to explore the world with fresh eyes!!!

Eric and I have decided to abandon our plans to move to Santa Barbara next month in favor of going on an epic worldly adventure for an undetermined period of time. After all, Santa Barbara will always be there. 🙂 But we won’t always be young and child-less, so we really want to make the most of our current situation and explore the world as we see fit [disclaimer: I recognize that people go on worldly adventures with their children all the time. We have just agreed that it’s not something that we want to do…not yet, anyway].

What does this mean for us? Basically, it means that we have a lot of research to do to plan out our trip. We have been reading The 4-Hour Workweek by Timothy Ferriss and it’s really supporting our “alternative” mindset. Instead of chasing stability and comfort, we’re figuring out how to do more of what excites us on a regular basis.

Timeline-wise, we’re not sure when will be best for us to embark on our journey — we have weddings and various other engagements to attend throughout the rest of the year that all take place in the States. We’re considering starting off domestically, and then heading abroad once we’re done with all of our commitments here.

I’ve definitely been battling a lot of the old voices in my head that are telling me “you’re crazy” and “you shouldn’t do this because it’s too risky,” and “isn’t it time for you to settle down?” and I’m happy to report: I’m getting a lot better at shutting them up. Those voices are just fears and what I perceive to be “societal norms” that I don’t want to give in to or abide by anymore. I’m stepping off of the beaten path to explore what truly excites & fulfills me!

In the book, Tim encourages the reader to think about what their WORST CASE SCENARIO would look like, if they do the thing they most want to do. Our worst case scenario is: ending up back in E’s parents’ house, financially starting from scratch. Let’s see here…go on an epic adventure with my hubsband and end up exactly where we started? Umm…that’s about the best “worst case scenario” I can imagine!!! We are definitely blessed to have such an incredible network of support.

That’s our huge update for you! We started thinking about it ten days ago and we’re 100% committed to making it happen…now we’re figuring out the how and when of it all.

I love how flexibly and freely we are creating the life of our dreams together. THANK YOU ERIC for loving me and my “consistent inconsistence” [not to be confused with incontinence – bahahaha]. 🙂

I am so excited for our grand adventure ahead. Please share any & all comments and suggestions that you have for us!

x Nicole

8 thoughts on “the travel bug.

  1. Also named Nicole 🙂 I have been bitten by the travel bug as well and am planning a tour of south east asia with my fiance before life weighs us down with responsibilities. Love hearing about other people whoa re doing the same!

    Our plan is to spend some time in Nepal and hike to base camp one of everest and then spend the rest of the time down in South East Asia visiting Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Indonesia and Thailand.

    Like

    1. Hi Nicole! Your adventure with your fiance sounds wonderful! And I totally agree, I love hearing about other people who are doing the same, so thank you for sharing! Will you be blogging about your travels?

      Like

Share your Thoughts!

