plans subject to change.

“Life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes. Don’t resist them – that only creates sorrow. Let reality be reality. Let things flow naturally forward in whatever way they like.”
~ Lao Tzu

The past few weeks [since deciding to travel] have been challenging for me, given my history of being a notorious planner [slash over-planner]. Eric and I have had a lot of uncertainties come up, and it seems like we’ve been changing our plans on a daily basis.

It has been [and continues to be] a great opportunity for me to learn how to lean in and embrace uncertainty [especially since I committed to doing that in 2014!]. I keep reminding myself, “it’s ok to not have it all figured out.” Because, really, is there such a thing as having it ALL figured out? I’ve heard and experienced firsthand, “Life is what happens while you are busy making other plans” [John Lennon].

I used to think that I needed to have all the answers…and now I’m recognizing that I don’t. This adventure is encompassing a lot of my deepest passions: adventuring, connecting, getting uncomfortable, experiencing new cultures, and obviously personal growth will be at the pinnacle of it all. And for E, his intention is to really discover his passions.

We have talked about it, and we have no idea how that’s all going to look in real life — and other than following our hearts…we don’t really have an agenda.

For the first time in my life…I’m starting to enjoy this feeling of uncertainty! I’m excited and am open to all kinds of possibilities that I’d usually close myself off to when I’d over-plan things.

Of course we WILL be planning certain aspects of the trip, like visas, flights, lodging, etc. — I’m just talking about the bigger question of what our day to day is going to look like…and right now we have NO IDEA! πŸ™‚

Here’s the current plan: stay in SoCal until mid-November, then move to Europe for a while. [And as you already know…these plans are subject to change without notice!] πŸ™‚ Stay tuned as our adventure continues to unfold!

x Nicole

One thought on “plans subject to change.

Share your Thoughts!

