photographic intentions.

“A photograph is a biography of a moment.”
~Art Shay

Last Saturday, I went to the Annenberg Space for Photography and got to explore their exhibit The Power of Photography: a compilation of 125 years of photos from National Geographic. It was incredible! The exhibit had a mixture of digital slideshows, prints of various sizes, walls wallpapered with images, videos of interviews, and more.

I was most impacted by the feature presentation (run time ~25 mins), which was a series of interviews with Nat Geo photographers who each had very different artistic focuses: nature, animals, conflict, suffering women, world leaders, etc. Each photographer clearly articulated their intentions for taking photos, and I was blown away by the clarity and specificity of their stated intentions.

As I watched the film, I realized that I haven’t spent time thinking about why it is that I take pictures, and what I want to portray with them. Basically, what are my intentions as a photographer?

So far, I know that I’m drawn to human connection and I love to capture interactions between people. I’m going to spend some time in the next few weeks getting really clear on my photographic intentions, and I’ll share what I come up with by April 26th!

In the mean time, I’ll leave you with this human connection photo that I took of E and me [with my tripod], which has been enhanced with a quote chosen by my new bud Nate Bagley of Loveumentary. If you haven’t checked out his website — GO CHECK IT OUT! It’s an amazing compilation of REAL LIFE love stories from across the States. Also, his AMA was totally inspiring, so check that out too. 🙂

loviesAnd a super big thank you to my dear sweet hubsby, Eric, for choosing me day after day. xoxo

x Nicole

PS – If you haven’t already seen it, check out this beautiful video of photographer Art Shay [quoted above] as he discusses the love of his life. So touching!

Share your Thoughts!

