photographic intentions revisited.

“We look at the world and see what we have learned to believe is there,
[what] we have been conditioned to expect…
But, as photographers, we must learn to relax our beliefs.”
~ Aaron Siskind

As promised, I’m back with my photographic intention. Here it is:

I intend to See clearly, and faithfully capture what I see.

Henri Cartier-Bresson defined seeing as “putting one’s head, one’s eye, and one’s heart on the same axis.” I love that definition.

I’m in the middle of reading, The Practice of Contemplative Photography: Seeing the World with Fresh Eyes [by Andy Karr and Michael Wood], and I’m really enjoying the “fresh eyes” I’m learning to see the world through!

What I appreciate is: my learnings from the book haven’t been limited to photography…the lessons are also applicable to life. One of my favorite quotes so far has been from John Szarkowski,

“No mechanism has ever been devised that has recorded visual fact so clearly as photography. The consistent flaw in the system has been that it has recorded the wrong facts: not what we knew was there but what has appeared to be there.”

And that reminds me of Mark Twain’s quote,

“It ain’t what you don’t know that gets you into trouble. It’s what you know for sure that just ain’t so.”

Conclusion being: I often choose to see what I want to see, instead of recognizing the reality of the situation. I get so caught up in my beliefs, filters, perceptions, etc. and stop truly Seeing what is taking place [whether it’s an actual event, or just something happening in my head]. Now I’m charging forward with this new intention, for photography as well as Life, and I’m excited to See the world from a whole new perspective!

Wishing you a wonderful rest of your weekend!

x Nicole

Share your Thoughts!

