a day with my Meeshy Mouse (aka – Dr. Michelle Dickinson).

“My general attitude to life is to enjoy every minute of every day. I never do anything with a feeling of, ‘Oh God, I’ve got to do this today.'”
~ Richard Branson

Earlier this week, Eric & I got to spend some quality time with one of our best friends. Legally, she’s known as Dr. Michelle Dickinson…but to us, she’s Meeshy Mouse. 🙂 This post is about the incredibly inspiring day that we got to spend with her.

But first…some background:

Once upon a time, in August of 2012, Eric & I met Dr. Michelle Dickinson, scientist & kitesurfer extraordinaire. We met through E’s boss [this is when we were still living in Auckland], and she & I connected immediately.

A few weeks later, we went on a road trip to snowboard on Mount Ruapehu with some friends. Meesh & I spent the entire drive (5 hours…in each direction!) getting to know each other. To say that we had a lot in common seemed like an understatement. It didn’t take us long to become joined at the hip. I felt an internal pull to be in her space AS much as possible.

We talked about everything with each other. She was always supportive, understanding, and extraordinarily compassionate, while also giving me honest & insightful feedback to help me be my best self. She never took things personally, and didn’t let her own “stuff” get in the way of giving me honest feedback. A true friend indeed.

Our hangout this week was no different…we caught up on our lives, what we’re currently working on [both internally & externally], and what our plans are for the future.

Listening to the incredible adventures that she’s had recently was absolutely awe-inspiring for me. And her explanation for how she did it? She smiled, shrugged, and casually said “I just show up for life every day.” 🙂

I love it. I love that response so much because I can SEE how true it is for her. And I love that she makes it sound easy — easy in the sense that she’s so aligned in her life that even though she’s busy, she’s still totally happy & fulfilled. She’s humble & grateful, and I really admire that about her.

At the beginning of this year, she spent time writing down some clear goals for 2014, and she has already accomplished a lot of them in only six months [including kite surfing with Richard Branson, which is what she spent last week doing]. She’s not afraid to dream BIG, and she does whatever it takes to make those dreams her reality. What an example she sets!

After spending the day with her, I was inspired to re-focus on what I’m committed to creating, in the short & long term future [since the two are obviously connected]. These two questions of hers really stuck with me:

1)   If I gave you a vision board right now, what would you put on it?

2)   If you wrote a list of the top THREE things you like to do, what would they be?

Not having clear answers to those questions helped me to realize I’m not really clear right now — I’ve gotten to a state of scatterbrained-ness. So, inspired by Meeshy, I’m now getting clear on what my responses to those two questions would be, and then I’ll be taking action! I’m going to create that vision board, and I’m going to write that list, and I’m going to step up the DOING in my life. I know that I’ve improved my BEING a lot this year, and now it’s time to keep the ball rolling [forward] with more action.

How would you respond to those questions? Are you clear about what you’re working toward, right now?

And now…a photographic walk down memory lane… 🙂

Meesh…thank you. Thank you for showing up fully, every day of your life, and for teaching me what that looks like. Thank you for your compassion, support, and honest feedback. Thank you for helping me to grow into my best self. Thank you for loving me, even when I’m not being my best self, and for bringing me back from the darkness. 😉 Thank you for going out of your way to make time for E & me. Thank you for being…I feel so blessed to have you in my life and to get to call you one of my nearest & dearest friends. I love you!!!!

x Nicole

Share your Thoughts!

