six years of love.

“Don’t be satisfied with stories,
how things have gone with others.
Unfold your own myth.”
~ Rumi

From the very beginning of our relationship (not to be confused with the beginning of our friendship which occurred 10 months earlier), Eric and I knew that we had found something special in each other…it was truly as if we’d been waiting for each other our whole lives!

Everything was rainbows and unicorns for us. We squeezed as many kisses as we possibly could into our days. Any time we spent apart seemed too long…we’d even hang out with each other while only one of us was working [at our old library job], so we didn’t have to be apart for too long.

There were times when our bond seemed “too good to be true,” because I wasn’t really raised to believe that fairy tale love could exist in real life. And our deep connection carried us through difficult times as we each struggled with insecurities of being “not good enough.” I was afraid that he would leave me if he knew the real me, and vice versa.

But slowly, over time, and then more rapidly after we got a reality slap to stop living out of our insecurities, we learned to really trust in ourselves and in each other, and to BELIEVE it when we promised to be there for each other, all ways, always, to infinity and beyond.

Now here we are…we celebrated our first married year and sixth year of togetherness on August 9, and things are just….SPECTACULARLY MAGICALLY INCREDIBLE. We are paving our own way through life, side by side, hand in hand, and loving every moment of it. Even when we are faced with “hard” times [aka – the surprises of life, aka – life], we are reminded to be grateful for all that we are, all that we have created, and all that we’ve been blessed to have in our lives.

For those of you who don’t follow me on facebook, here’s what I posted in honor of my Eric on our anniversary. ❤

To the man who looks at me with never ending love in your eyes, goofs with me when I’m acting cray from sleep deprivation, comforts me when I’m crying for NO reason, laughs with me when we reflect on my crying for no reason, drives us home from long trips when I’m sneezy & congested, surprises me with sweet notes & delicious treats, snuggles me silly every day after work, kisses me ALL the times, holds my hand when we’re snuggled up on the couch watching Friday Night Lights, spontaneously plans epic life adventures with me, supports me when I’m up against it and offers me compassion when I’m being…the wursht, carries just about every bag I ever have with me for at least SOME period of time while we’re out, cracks the most hilarious jokes and sings the best made-up songs known to mankind, cooks us delicious meals when we’re on vacation, works SO dang hard for our little fambly, and who loves me SO BIG lovies, all ways, always, to infinity and beyond……I love you. Thank you for the BEST first year of marriage I could’ve ever asked for! Happy Anniversary, Eric! Here’s to a zillion more!!!

august 9thsHere we are on August 9th, 2008 through 2014!

xx Nicole

One thought on “six years of love.

Share your Thoughts!

