interested vs committed?

β€œThere is a difference between interest and commitment. When you’re interested in something, you do it only when it’s convenient. When you’re committed to something, you accept no excuses, only results.”
~Ken Blanchard

When was the last time you took a step back to ask yourself the question,

“Am I interested in or am I committed to _____________________________?”
[an activity, way of being, outcome, relationship, etc.]

I’ve discussed this question at least ten times in the last month, in different conversations with different people. It’s such a simple concept, and yet I’ve been struggling with it.

In my lifetime, I’ve talked about doing A MULTITUDE of different things…write books, lead personal development seminars, create watercolor art, make greeting cards by hand, open alternative education schools, start my own business, travel the world, be a mom, do a TED talk…well, you get the picture

And when I look at that list above, I feel a bit disappointed, because the truth is that I haven’t been 100% committed to any of those things…merely interested.

Up until now.

Starting today, I’ll be waking up at 5am to figure out what I most want to commit to, and I’m getting committed. The time is now!!! I’m a notorious talker, with plentiful words and very little follow-through, and basically…I’m over that. I’m choosing action over words – well, action and words since I’ll still be blogging πŸ˜‰ – and I’m committed to creating results! No excuses!

wee

What are you committed to creating in your life??

xx Nicole

Share your Thoughts!

