mini-retirement #1.

“A good traveler has no fixed plans,
and is not intent on arriving.”
~Lao Tzu

Almost exactly a year ago today, I posted “the travel bug.” And shortly thereafter, I posted “plans subject to change.” To summarize those posts: last March, Eric & I decided to abandon our plans to settle down, in favor of traveling to an undetermined place [or places] for an undetermined period of time.

Here we are, one year and several zillion plan revisions [and one exciting life event!] later…heading to Europe tomorrow!! 🙂

When people ask me what our travel plans are, I’ve started to respond “we’re just going to go wherever the wind blows us” because it’s the best way to capture our mindset about the trip. Our plans have changed countless times in the past year, and I’m sure that will continue to happen once we get there [and that’s ok!!].

We are planning to travel until we run out of one of the following:

  1. The Desire to continue traveling [because who knows, we might end up hating the bouncing around after just a few weeks!]
  2. Valid visas [we have differing 3-month visa allowances in different parts of Europe], or
  3. Money in our adventuring budget [duh]

And that’s about it, as far as structure goes. We have an idea of which countries we’d like to visit, but things might change if we find a place we absolutely love and want to stay there for longer.

My deepest intention on this adventure is to live in the moment, accepting whatever life sends my way with curiosity & gratitude.

As I release expectations and remain open to what is, I’m discovering a whole new zest for life that I didn’t even know I had! Everything seems so much more exciting!

So…off we go! I’ll surely post some updates along the way. If you’re into social media and want to stay updated, follow me on Instagram because I’ll definitely be posting photos there more often than I’ll be blogging here! Adieu!

x Nicole

PS – Our Caribbean cruise last week was INCREDIBLE!!!! T’was a wonderful & relaxing way to kick off our first mini-retirement!IMG_0079

One thought on “mini-retirement #1.

Share your Thoughts!

